Skip to main content

About McGovern Library: Collections

McGovern Library Collections

Print Collection

The print collection consists of approximately 76,000 volumes and 100 current periodical subscriptions. McGovern Library has over 125,000 ebooks and over 8,000 online films in its collections. Additionally, the library subscribes to more than 50 online databases providing access to nearly 43,500 full-text journals and magazines. Library materials can be located using the online catalog.

Media Collection

The media collection consists of Blu-Ray discs, DVDs, videotapes, compact discs, audio cassettes, record albums, films, slides, audiovisual kits, and curriculum kits. These may be checked out at the Circulation Desk. Students may use the Library's Preview Rooms, located on the upper level, to view movies.

Special Collections

McGovern Library houses various collections made up of both print and non-print materials. Books from Senator McGovern's and Senator Case's personal collections may be found in the library's Main collection. Some materials in the Senator Francis Case and Senator George McGovern collections are housed in the University Archives on the library's second floor; archival material in the Case Collection consists of letters and other papers, books and government documents from Case's congressional career. The McGovern archival materials include political memorabilia and political photographs of Senator George McGovern.

The McGovern Library archives has a variety of smaller collections including the Jedediah Smith Collection, Badger Clark Collection, and Preacher Henry Weston Smith memorabilia.

The library’s Special Collections include the Jennewein Western History Library and the Boyajian Civil War Collection which are available for checkout. The Jennewein Western History Library consists of Western literature and history books, both fiction and non-fiction and was founded by DWU History Professor, Leonard Jennewein, by a donation of his personal library. The collection additionally contains papers and photographs located in the University Archives.  The Jennewein Western History library is located on the second floor of the library between the Periodical and Teufel collections. The Boyajian Civil War Collection, donated by DWU Alumni Andrew Boyajian, provides students with in-depth resources on the conflict.  This collection is located on the first floor.

The Margaret Teufel Children's Collection, an endowed collection of children fiction and non-fiction, is located on the second floor and is available for checkout. The Teufel collection supports both the education department’s studies of juvenile literature and the reading needs of little Tigers.

The library’s digital collections highlights materials from archives including University archives, McGovern Collection and Case collection. The digital collections are accessed via the Digital Library of South Dakota.

Use of the archival special collections is by appointment only. Inquiries should be directed to Laurie Langland, University Archivist. For more information on Special Collections visit the University Archives.

© 2016 McGovern Library, Dakota Wesleyan University

Contact us: McGovern Library | Ph. 605.995.2618 | Fax 605.995.2893 | 1201 McGovern Avenue, Mitchell, SD 57301