Skip to main content

About McGovern Library: Faculty Info

Information for Faculty

Welcome to McGovern Library's guide to resources and services for DWU's teaching faculty.

Linking to Library Resources

Linking to Library Resources

Linking directly to an information resource (i.e., journal article, book chapter, online video, etc.) in a library database is a great way to share information with your students. Providing direct links to articles is the best way to avoid copyright issues. Most of McGovern Library’s databases allow off-campus access, so your students can read or view the resource from anywhere with an Internet connection.

Links change every day. Copying URLs from your browser’s address bar could result in broken links since they change so frequently. The best way to avoid broken links is to use "permanent" or "persistent" URLs. These special URLs do not change, and they point the user directly to a specific webpage so you never have to worry about your link breaking. Each database should provide a permanent URL for each article. If you are using an EBSCOHost Database you can find the Permanent URL located in the right-had column of “Tools” (see image below).

Snipped image from EBSCOHost database

 

Click on “Permalink” to view the permanent URL for that particular article.

 

Snipped image from EBSCOHost database

 

Due to contracts and licensing, DWU must limit off-campus access of databases to current faculty, staff, and students. Off-campus users must verify (or “authenticate”) themselves as part of the DWU community. When accessing a library resources from off-campus users will first be prompted to sign in through the DWU authentication (i.e., proxy) server. To create a link that directs off-campus users through DWU’s proxy server is a simple process of combining the URL of the proxy server and the permanent URL of the article or book chapter that you want to use. The basic format to use is:

https://ezproxy.dwu.edu:2048/login?url=permanentURL

Once you’ve located the permanent URL of the article (see above) that you want your students to read, copy the permanent URL and append it to the URL of our proxy server:

https://ezproxy.dwu.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=82896721&site=ehost-live

Make sure that there are no spaces between the equals sign at the end of DWU’s proxy server address and the permanent URL address of the article. A space will cause the link to not work. If the permanent URL of the article is long it will probably wrap around as in the example above. Once you have this accomplished, copy this entire URL address into your online course page to provide the direct link to your students.

 

Linking to Films on Demand films

                Providing a link to a Films on Demand (FOD) film is a bit easier because FOD has a system that combines the DWU proxy server address and the film’s permanent URL. After you have found a film to use scroll to the bottom of the page to find the “Title URL” (see image below). You can copy the title URL into your online course page to provide the direct link to your students.

 

Snipped image from Films on Demand database

 

If you have any questions contact Kevin Kenkel at 605-995-2617 or kekenkel@dwu.edu.

Online Courses

Using Library Databases Using the Library Catalog
Requesting Library Materials Interlibrary Loan
Address Changes Ebooks

For questions regarding:

  • Circulation issues such as library card/account activation, fines, overdue items, lost, missing, or damaged materials

  • Reporting an address change

Contact:

Judy Lehi -- Circulation Supervisor
phone: (605) 995-2894
e-mail: julehi@dwu.edu

  • Research assistance

  • Interlibrary Loan

  • Database problems or log-in questions

Contact:

Kevin Kenkel -- Library Director
phone: (605) 995-2617
e-mail: kekenkel@dwu.edu

Or visit the Library Staff page for additional contact information.
 

Using Library Databases

Use the library databases to search for articles from journals, magazines and newspapers; reference books; or primary documents such as speeches. If you are unsure of which database to use for your academic discipline the Subject Guides are where you can locate subject-specific databases and other resources. Databases can also be accessed from the A-Z Database List.This list is best if you know the name of the database that you want to use.

When connecting to a database from off campus, you will be required to log in to most library databases. If you see a screen containing the following:

Enter your DWU network login username and password.

*NOTE: You must have a DWU network account for this to work. If you see the log-in prompt above, and you are unable to log in, contact the DWU helpdesk at (605) 995-2697 or email helpdesk@dwu.edu.

If the log-in screen you receive does not look like the image above contact the library for more information.

If you find articles that are not available full-text in the database you can use the database's email function to request the article through interlibrary loan. Send your article request to library@dwu.edu and include the following in the comments section:

  • Date you need the article by
  • Your name
  • Your email address
  • Your library barcode number or your campus ID number
  • "Distance student"

TOP


Using the Library Catalog

Use the library catalog to search for books (print and ebooks), BluRay discs, DVDs, VHS tapes, CDs, and other materials owned by McGovern Library. The library catalog can be reached from the "Library Catalog" link in the upper left of your screen.

Library Catalog Features

Once in the library catalog, you can search for materials held by McGovern Library.


 

Log in by clicking on the "Sign In" link in the upper right-hand corner and using your DWU username and password.


  • My Account (found in the "Library Links" drop-down menu): contains your account information, address, active cash (fines, etc.), and current loans.

TOP


Ebooks

McGovern Library has ebooks from a number of sources: EBSCO eBook Collection and Gale Virtual Reference Library. These collections provide access to electronic editions of books. Access is available off campus just like most other databases. Ebooks may be located by either connecting to each collection, or searching the library catalog.


Requesting Library Materials

Off-campus faculty may request books, CDs, VHS tapes and DVDs, and other circulating materials to be sent to them.  AV equipment, reference books, newspapers, journals and magazines, and microforms cannot be borrowed.  Copies of articles from magazines or journals may be requested.  For information, on requesting articles, or any materials not owned by McGovern Library see Interlibrary Loan for off-campus faculty.

  • Books may be used for four weeks from the date received
  • DVDs VHS tapes  and CDs  may be used for two weeks from the date received
  • Materials may be renewed five times unless requested by another patron.
  • Use periods for other circulating materials may vary and will be indicated on the date due slip.

Distance Delivery Service

McGovern Library provides access to materials for off-campus faculty. Materials will typically be delivered by the USPS or UPS. Materials cannot be delivered to P.O. Box numbers by UPS. It is your responsibility to inform the library if your address changes. Borrowers assume all responsibility for shipped items until the items are received back at the library. Fines and/or charges will be assessed for overdue, lost, damaged, or mutilated materials.

How do I request material from McGovern Library?

Requests to borrow library material must be made via the Library Catalog.

  1. From the library’s home page click on the Library Catalog link in the Search drop-down menu at the top.
  2. Enter a title, author, or other search terms in order to locate materials.
  3. Limit your search to Dakota Wesleyan University's McGovern Library using the location limiter.
  4. Click the Search button.
  5. On the search results screen each item’s title links to the full record view for the item.  Use the "Request Item" link on the full record screen to submit a request for the item.
  6. Fill in the request form's required fields. Be sure to include your name, mailing address, phone number and email address. 
    • In the comments field, enter the phrase “Off-campus Faculty”
  7. Click Submit” once you’ve completed the form. 

 How long does it take to get the requested item?

Times can vary, but expect delivery in 3 to 5 business days.  If materials are unavailable you will be notified.

How do I renew a borrowed item?

Renew borrowed items prior to the due date by calling the library at (605) 995-2618.  Overdue items may not be renewed online.

How do I return borrowed items?

Due dates are clearly marked on each item’s due date slip (located inside the back cover). Materials need to arrive at the library no later than the due date to avoid fines. Package the item, attach the mailing label provided, and send it to McGovern Library. McGovern Library recommends shipping materials via UPS. If another delivery service is used, you should select a method that provides tracking of packages.

TOP


Interlibrary Loan for off campus faculty

All general Interlibrary Loan principles detailed in the Interlibrary Loan Policy apply to distance students, with the following stipulations:

2.2 The requester assumes the cost of returning the materials to McGovern Library.  The library recommends use of UPS or other delivery service which provides tracking and/or insurance options.

2.3 Interlibrary Loan materials must be shipped back to McGovern Library, or a renewal requested on or before the due date specified. 

  1. Off-campus faculty may submit requests for books, DVDs, CDs, etc. (any returnable materials NOT owned by McGovern Library). These materials may be requested in the following way:

    1.1. Via the "Request Item" link in the Library Catalog.  Fill in all fields completely, making sure to include your current mailing address and contact information.

    1.1.1. Enter the phrase "Off-campus Faculty" in the comments field.

  2. Interlibrary Loan materials with due dates will be sent to the requester via UPS. 

    2.1 The requester assumes complete and total responsibility for the supplying library's Interlibrary Loan materials from the moment materials leave McGovern Library until the moment they are received back at McGovern Library.

    2.1.1 The patron is responsible for paying any and all charges levied by the supplying library for the recovery, repair, or replacement of items which become lost, stolen, damaged, destroyed, or otherwise overdue while the patron’s responsibility.  A non-refundable, $15.00 processing fee will be charged by McGovern Library, in addition to any charges levied by the supplying library.

    2.1.2 The patron is not financially liable for the loss, theft, damage, or destruction of the supplying library’s Interlibrary Loan material while the material is in transit to or from the lending library, or while being processed at McGovern Library.

    2.3.1 Failure to return Interlibrary Loan materials or request a renewal by the due date will result in the following disciplinary action by McGovern Library:

    2.3.1.1. Suspension of all borrowing privileges for McGovern Library materials until the overdue Interlibrary Loan material(s) have been returned.

    2.3.2.1. Replacement cost and processing fees for the unreturned item will be charged to the requester’s library account.

    2.3.2. Refusal to return Interlibrary Loan materials when requested by the library staff is considered a flagrant and intentional violation of the Academic Integrity policy.  Violations of the Academic Integrity policy will be reported to the Vice President of Academic Affairs and Dean.

  3. Off-campus faculty may submit requests for any articles from journals, magazines or newspapers, including those owned by McGovern Library.  To submit requests for articles:

    3.1.  Email complete article citations to library@dwu.edu. Citations may be mailed directly from within available databases, or retyped in the email message.

    3.1.1. Be sure to include the phrase "Off-campus Faculty" in notes field or email message.

    3.1.2. Photocopies become property of the requester.  They may be supplied via email or first class mail

TOP


Address Changes

If your address changes, it is your responsibility to notify the library. To verify your address information:

  1. Sign into your library account via the  "Library Catalog"
  2. Click the My Account (found in the "Library Links" drop-down menu)
  3. Verify your "Contact Information"

If the information displayed in the Address, email, or telephone fields is incorrect or incomplete, contact the circulation supervisor, Judy Lehi at 605-995-2894 or julehi@dwu.edu.

Library Account

You can login to your library account to see what books you have checked out and when they are due. Click on the "Sign in" link in the upper right-hand corner of the library catalog.

Image of sign in link in library catalog

Ordering Library Materials

The library purchases materials that support the curriculum. We encourage faculty to recommend titles that you'd like us to purchase. We purchase most faculty recommendations if our budget allows. Review sources such as Choice magazine are available for college level materials. If you would like help finding reviews of materials to support your classes please talk to Kevin Kenkel.

Reserve Materials

Faculty may put library or personal materials on reserve in the library for students. When placing materials on reserve faculty must follow university copyright policy found in the faculty handbook. Reserve forms are available at the Circulation Desk and online. Please specify how long the material should remain on reserve and what checkout period you would like (e.g., 2 hours and overnight, library use only, 1 day, 2 days, etc). We will follow your instructions and will not make exceptions without your personal okay. Please give us at least 48 hours notice when you wish to have an item put on reserve so that we can have enough time to get it ready for your students when they come in. Please call Judy Lehi (995-2894) if you have any questions about reserves.

© 2016 McGovern Library, Dakota Wesleyan University

Contact us: McGovern Library | Ph. 605.995.2618 | Fax 605.995.2893 | 1201 McGovern Avenue, Mitchell, SD 57301