|Using Library Databases||Using the Library Catalog|
|Database Searching Handouts||Requesting Library Materials|
|Interlibrary Loan||Address Changes|
*Distance students are those students enrolled solely in online courses or those students enrolled in the Sioux Falls nursing program, and whose primary residence is not in Mitchell. If you are not certain of your status, or if you are a student whose status has changed, please contact Judy Lehi, circulation supervisor, by email (firstname.lastname@example.org) or phone at (605) 995-2894. If you have any questions or difficulties receiving or returning materials call this same number.
For questions regarding:
Or visit the Library Staff page for additional contact information.
Use the library databases to search for articles from journals, magazines and newspapers; reference books; or primary documents such as speeches. If you are unsure of which database to use for your academic discipline the Subject guides are where you can locate subject-specific databases. When on the Subject Guides select your academic discipline. Databases can also be accessed from the "A - Z Database List" page. This is best if you know the name of the database that you want to use.
From off campus, you will be required to log in to most library databases. If you see a screen containing the following:
Enter your DWU network login username and password.
*NOTE: You must have a DWU network account for this to work. If you see the log-in prompt above, and you are unable to log in, contact the DWU helpdesk at (605) 995-2697 or email email@example.com.
If the log-in screen you receive does not look like the image above, contact the library for more information.
If you find articles that are not available full-text in the database you can use the database's email function to request the article through interlibrary loan. Send your article request to firstname.lastname@example.org and include the following in the comments section:
- Date you need the article by
- Your name
- Your email address
- Your library barcode number or your campus ID number
- "Distance student"
CINAHL(PDF 2 pages, 404kb)
CINAHL (PDF 1 page, 437kb)
EBSCO Fulltext (2 pages PDF, 438kb)
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Advanced Searching tutorial)
Use the library catalog to search for books (print and ebooks), BluRay discs, DVDs, VHS tapes, CDs, and other materials owned by McGovern Library. The library catalog can be reached from the "Library Catalog" link in the upper left of your screen.
Library Catalog Features
Once in the library catalog, you can search for materials held by McGovern Library.
You can login to your library account to see what books you have checked out and when they are due. Click on the "Sign in" link in the upper right-hand corner of the library catalog.
McGovern Library has ebooks from a number of sources: EBSCO eBook Collection and Gale Virtual Reference Library. These collections provide access to electronic editions of books. Access is available off campus just like most other databases.Ebooks may be located by either connecting to each collection, or searching the library catalog.
Distance students may request books, CDs, VHS tapes and DVDs, and other circulating materials be sent to them. AV equipment, reference books, newspapers, journals and magazines, and microforms cannot be borrowed. Photocopies of articles from magazines or journals may be requested. For information, on requesting articles, or any materials not owned by McGovern Library see Interlibrary Loan for Distance Students.
Distance Education Delivery Service
McGovern Library provides access to materials for distance students. Materials will typically be delivered by the USPS or UPS. Materials cannot be delivered to P.O. Box numbers by UPS. It is your responsibility to inform the library if your address changes. Borrowers assume all responsibility for shipped items until the items are received back at the library. Fines and/or charges will be assessed for overdue, lost, damaged, or mutilated materials.
How do I request material from McGovern Library?
Requests to borrow library material must be made via the Library Catalog.
How long does it take to get the requested item?
Times can vary, but expect delivery in 3 to 5 business days. If materials are unavailable you will be notified.
How do I renew a borrowed item?
Renew borrowed items prior to the due date by calling the library at (605) 995-2618. Overdue items may not be renewed online.
How do I return borrowed items?
Due dates are clearly marked on each item’s due date slip (located inside the back cover). Materials should be sent back to the library no later than the due date to avoid fines. Package the item, attach the mailing label provided, and send it to McGovern Library. McGovern Library recommends shipping materials via UPS. If another delivery service is used, you should select a method that provides tracking of packages.
All general Interlibrary Loan principles detailed in the Interlibrary Loan Policy apply to distance students, with the following stipulations:
2.2 The requester assumes the cost of returning the materials to McGovern Library. The library recommends use of UPS or other delivery service which provides tracking and/or insurance options.
2.3 Interlibrary Loan materials must be shipped back to McGovern Library, or a renewal requested on or before the due date specified.
1.1. Via the "Borrow this item from another library" link in WorldCat. Fill in all fields completely, making sure to include your current mailing address and contact information.
1.1.1. Enter the phrase "Distance student" in the comments field.
2.1 The requester assumes complete and total responsibility for the supplying library's Interlibrary Loan materials from the moment materials leave McGovern Library until the moment they are received back at McGovern Library.
2.1.1 The patron is responsible for paying any and all charges levied by the supplying library for the recovery, repair, or replacement of items which become lost, stolen, damaged, destroyed, or otherwise overdue while the patron’s responsibility. A non-refundable, $15.00 processing fee will be charged by McGovern Library, in addition to any charges levied by the supplying library.
2.1.2 The patron is not financially liable for the loss, theft, damage, or destruction of the supplying library’s Interlibrary Loan material while the material is in transit to or from the lending library, or while being processed at McGovern Library.
2.3.1 Failure to return Interlibrary Loan materials or request a renewal by the due date will result in the following disciplinary action by McGovern Library:
184.108.40.206. Suspension of all borrowing privileges for McGovern Library materials until the overdue Interlibrary Loan material(s) have been returned.
220.127.116.11. Replacement cost and processing fees for the unreturned item will be charged to the requester’s library account.
2.3.2. Refusal to return Interlibrary Loan materials when requested by the library staff is considered a flagrant and intentional violation of the Academic Integrity policy. Violations of the Academic Integrity policy will be reported to the Vice President of Academic Affairs and Dean.
3.1. Email complete article citations to email@example.com. Citations may be mailed directly from within CINAHL or other available databases, or retyped in the email message.
3.1.1. Be sure to include the phrase "Distance student" in notes field or email message.
3.1.2. Photocopies become property of the requester. They may be supplied via email or first class mail
If your address changes, it is your responsibility to notify the library. To verify your address information:
If the information displayed in the Address, email, or telephone fields is incorrect or incomplete, contact the circulation supervisor, Judy Lehi at 605-995-2894 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
© 2016 McGovern Library, Dakota Wesleyan University
Contact us: McGovern Library | Ph. 605.995.2618 | Fax 605.995.2893 | 1201 McGovern Avenue, Mitchell, SD 57301