Skip to main content
Search the library catalog for items owned by McGovern Library.
At this site you can enter the title of the journal, magazine or newspaper to find out if McGovern Library has the title in print or has online access to the journal.
Criminal Justice Database
ProQuest's Criminal Justice Database™ is a comprehensive database of U.S. and international criminal justice journals. The database includes abstract and indexing for 250 titles, with more than 100 available in full-text.
Lexis Nexis Academic
Lexis Nexis Academic provides full-text access to over 9,000 news, business, and legal sources. The comprehensive news coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources. The Company Dossier module provides detailed company information and financial performance measures. This database also provides access to Shepard's Citations® service for all federal and states court cases back to 1789.
NCJRS Abstracts Database
The NCJRS (National Criminal Justice Reference Service) Abstracts Database contains summaries of the more than 220,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the NCJRS Library collection. This includes more than 60,000 online resources and all known Office of Justice Programs works.
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Find information on topics related to business, communications, criminal justice, education, psychology, politics and more from a variety of news media including newspapers, newswires, blogs, videos and web-only content including the Aberdeen American News, Mitchell Daily Republic and USA Today.
The US Federal Government, which collects all kinds of data, is a good source of data for student reports or business or general information purposes. They are often invisible because they are buried deep in massive websites and because the government is the unique source for important research and information. Statistical data can be found across many government department websites, but it may be hard to track down with a search.
A multi-disciplinary database providing full text for over 19,100 total publications and indexing & abstracting for nearly 24,000 publications. EBSCO MegaFILE is comprised of EBSCO’s Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier and Regional Business News databases.
JSTOR is a full-text database of back issues for scholarly journals as well as eBooks, primarily in the social sciences and humanities. Journal content typically begins with volume one, but because JSTOR is an archival database, the most recent 3-5 years of journal issues are not available in JSTOR.
ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library™ provides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines.
US Major Dailies (Newspapers)
US Major Dailies provides access to five of the country’s most respected national and regional newspapers offering researchers complete and timely coverage of local, national, and world events. Titles include Chicago Tribune (1985 - current), Los Angeles Times (1985 - current), New York Times (1980 - current), The Wall Street Journal (1984 - current), and The Washington Post (1987 - current).
US North Central Newsstream
US North Central Newsstream enables users to search the most recent regional news content, as well as archives which stretch back to the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. US North Central Newsstream enables users to search the most recent regional news content, as well as archives which stretch back to the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. North Central Newsstream covers news sources from Colorado, Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, North Dakota, Nebraska, South Dakota (including the Sioux Falls Argus Leader), and Wyoming.
© 2016 McGovern Library, Dakota Wesleyan University
Contact us: McGovern Library | Ph. 605.995.2618 | Fax 605.995.2893 | 1201 McGovern Avenue, Mitchell, SD 57301