Skip to main content
D-Day, 1944 (UK National Archives)
The UK National Archives British Battles online exhibit detailing D-Day. Categories include Operation Overlord, Crossing the channel, On the beaches and landing grounds, and the Battle for Normandy, June - August 1944.
D-Day, the Normandy Invasion: Combat Demolition Units
Report On Naval Combat Demolition Units [NCDUs] In Operation "Nepture" as part of
Task Force 122. Submitted by: Lt.(jg) H. L. Blackwell, Jr. D-V(G) , USNR. Date: 5 July, 1944.
Operation Overlord: Invasion of Normandy
Naval History and Heritage Command's links to various pages relating to Operation Overlord.
Records Relating to D-Day (provided by the National Archives)
The National Archives (NARA) has in its holdings a multitude of records related to D-Day and its surrounding events. The records are held by various Archival units and are in many formats. This page provides a list of selected records to show the variety of information available as well as links to relevant resources.
The Trident Conference, May 1943
Summary of the Trident Conference held in Washington, DC in May 1943 between
Churchill and Roosevelt
Images of invasion forces along the French coast taken from an Allied aircraft on June 6, 1944:
Image of Allied bombing craters and a destroyed bridge - taken from the air on June 8, 1944:
Image of one of the “mulberry” artificial harbors built off the coast of Normandy to allow large Allied ships to dock and unload supplies and troops:
Normandy Campaign photos from the World War II database:
Detailed map showing the D-Day invasion plan, the disbursed Allied military encampments in Great Britain and the locations of German military divisions and commanders in France:
Maps of the final Operation Overload plan showing the beaches of Normandy, the Allied forces in Great Britain, drop zones for Allied airborne troops, and Allied glider routes:
Normandy Campaign maps from the World War II database:
Maps of German defenses along the coast of Normandy:
Military History Sites
Air Force Historical Studies Division (AFHSD)
The AFHSD provides information, analysis and perspective to Air Force leaders and their staffs to support planning, policy development and decision making.
Historical Office of the Office of the Secretary of Defense (OSD)
The mission of the historical office is to collect, preserve, and present the history of the Office of the Secretary of Defense, in order to support Department of Defense leadership and inform the American public.
Naval History and Heritage Command
The Naval History and Heritage Command (NHHC), headed by the Director of Naval History, is an Echelon II command headquartered on the Washington Navy Yard, D.C. The NHHC serves as the Navy's institutional memory by preserving, acquiring, producing, and disseminating history and heritage products and resources through Navy historical, archival, museum, curatorial, art, and underwater archeological programs.
U.S. Army Center of Military History
The mission of CHM is to accurately collect, preserve, interpret, and express the Army's history and material culture to more broadly educate and develop our force, the military profession, and the nation.
United States Marine Corps History Division
History Division's (HD) primary task is to research and write the Marine Corps’ official history. HD also provides reference and research assistance; preserves personal experiences and observations through oral history interviews; and deploys field historians to record history in the making.
30 Corps Intelligence Summary No. 412
Intelligence summary from British troops on D-day describing the battle conditions and
Conditions in Normandy, June 3, 1944
This memorandum to Eisenhower details the situation in Normandy just three days before
the invasion. It includes some details about the obstacles and defenses set up by the
Germans along the coast of France.
COSSAC (44) 10, January 11, 1944. To Commanding General, First Army group (Omar Bradley), signed “F.E. Morgan,” Chief of Staff to the Supreme Commander (Designate)
This document outlines the OVERLORD plan developed in 1943 by COSSAC. Although the plan was revised, it contained basic information on the locations of the landings along with objectives to be attained and indicated a target date of May 1, 1944, or shortly after for the assault.
Message from Gen. Dwight D. Eisenhower to Gen. George C. Marshall about the Invasion of Normandy and Photographs Taken on D-Day
The featured document is a message drafted during the early hours of the D-day Normandy invasion by Gen. Dwight D. Eisenhower, the Commander of the Supreme Headquarters, Allied Expeditionary Force (SHAEF), to his superior in Washington, DC, Gen. George C. Marshall, Army Chief of Staff. The document captures the immediacy and suspense of that day. Eisenhower's statement reflects his lack of information about how well the landings were going, even though they were well under way at that moment. His pride and confidence in the battle-tempered men he had met the preceding night—men he was about to send into combat—is also evident. A record from the holdings of the Dwight D. Eisenhower Library in Abilene, KS, the message is found in Pre-Presidential Papers, 1916–52.
Minutes of the SCAEF 21st Meeting, June 2, 1944
Minutes taken from the meeting of the Supreme Command of the Allied Expeditionary Force (American and British military leaders of Operation Overlord) four days before the DDay invasion. The leaders review the current status of the invasion plan.
Operation OVERLORD Cover Operation — (Pas De Calais) Appreciation, November 20, 1943
This document outlines in detail the Allied plan for deceiving the enemy into believing the main assault would come in the Pas De Calais area and thus was intended to divert enemy forces away from the Normandy beaches.
Operation Policy Memoranda, January 29, 1944
This 10 page memo was sent from SHAEF (General Eisenhower’s command office) to the other Allied commanders and includes the minutes from the March 20 meeting of the leaders. It details parts of the invasion plan including air strikes and diversion tactics scheduled in preparation for the initial invasion.
The Sextant and Eureka Conferences, November-December 1943
The Cairo Conference (code name Sextant) and the Tehran Conference (code name Eureka) were meetings between the Allied leaders to discuss their combined strategies in WWII. It was at the Eureka conference that the first Operation Overlord plan was mapped out and discussed. This document provides an overview of the plan and also lists obstacles and challenges.
Film created by the Office for Emergency Management. Office of War Information. Overseas Operations Branch. New York Office. News and Features Bureau.
D-Day to D plus 3
This film is probably the first film documentary of the events of the first four days of the D-day assault, created within days of the invasion.
D-Day to Germany, 1944
Jack Lieb went to Europe in 1943 with two movie cameras: He brought his 35mm black and white camera to film war coverage for Hearst’s News of the Day newsreels and his 16mm home movie camera to shoot color film to show to his family back home. In this film below, donated by the Lieb family to the National Archives in 1984, you’ll see D-Day from a perspective different than the official military film or commercial newsreel. With his personal footage, Lieb takes the viewer through the preparations in England, where he spent time with war correspondents Ernie Pyle, Jack Thompson, and Larry LaSueur, to the liberation of Paris and finally into Germany.
Eve of Battle (Universal News Volume 17, Release 300, Reels 1 & 2 of 2. June 6, 1944)
Universal Newsreel, in cooperation with the War Department, produced a photographic record of the Allied Expeditionary Forces
Film created by the Department of Transportation. U.S. Coast Guard. Public Affairs Staff. Historian's Office. ca. 1967- ?
Combat Interview of D-Day Survivors from the 116th Infantry Regiment
This item is the combat interview of seven survivors from Company A, 116th Infantry Regiment, 29th Infantry Division, concerning events that happened on June 6, 1944 (D-Day). It details some
of the defenses the soldiers faced when they landed in Normandy. Only one-third of the
company survived the invasion and made it safely to the seawall.
Letters from D-day
In 2004 The Guardian published letters from soldiers who participated in the D-Day invasions.
D-Day: On the Beach: Experiencing War: Veterans History Project (Library of Congress)
Stories of D-Day: On the Beach from Experiencing War, the Veterans History Project of the Library of Congress. Wading or swimming ashore on June 6, 1944 were some of World War II's bravest soldiers. Whether demolition experts, rangers trained to scale the cliffs of Normandy, bulldozer operators ready to create a new network on roads, or just infantrymen primed to establish positions, these men all shared a strong sense of determination to take the fight to the enemy and take France back from the Germans.
D-Day: Beyond the Beach: Experiencing War: Veterans History Project (Library of Congress)
Stories of D-Day: Beyond the Beach from Experiencing War, the Veterans History Project of the Library of Congress. Not everyone involved in the Normandy Invasion was slogging ashore on June 6. There were the airborne troops parachuting in, some even before the assault by sea began. And there were the officers who stayed aboard the giant ships and small landing craft to monitor progress of the invasion and offer whatever support was needed. The danger was great for all involved that day, but the stakes were too high to give in to fear.
D-Day Plus 1, D-Day Plus 2...: Experiencing War: Veterans History Project (Library of Congress)
Stories of D-Day Plus 1, D-Day Plus 2 ... from Experiencing War, the Veterans History Project of the Library of Congress. It was military shorthand for the date one landed in Normandy. After the first wave of troops came ashore, thousands and thousands more followed, each man well aware of the sacrifices his comrades had made on June 6. The physical evidence was inescapable, but the sense of mission never diminished, no matter how long afterwards your ship pulled in and you stepped onto French soil
Troop Carrier D-Day Flights - Air Mobility Command Museum
by Lew Johnston
This story is from a firsthand account. It is not copyrighted unless noted but we request anyone using this for other than personal use to credit the author and the museum.
© 2016 McGovern Library, Dakota Wesleyan University
Contact us: McGovern Library | Ph. 605.995.2618 | Fax 605.995.2893 | 1201 McGovern Avenue, Mitchell, SD 57301