Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the catalog for books, films, and other resources about athletic training, sports injuries, concussions, etc.
At this site you can enter the title of the journal, magazine or newspaper to find out if McGovern Library has the title in print or has online access to the journal.
Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
JSTOR is a full-text database of back issues for scholarly journals as well as eBooks, primarily in the social sciences and humanities. Journal content typically begins with volume one, but because JSTOR is an archival database, the most recent 3-5 years of journal issues are not available in JSTOR.
ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library™ provides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines.
Subject Databases and Journal Articles
Sports Medicine & Education Index
Articles and abstracts from 1970- covering physical fitness, health, sports medicine, sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology.
CINAHL® Complete is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL.
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
The National Center for Biotechnology Information provides access to biomedical and genomic information. This site is NCBI’s primary text search and retrieval system that integrates the PubMed database of biomedical literature with 39 other literature and molecular databases including DNA and protein sequence, structure, gene, genome, genetic variation and gene expression.
Nicolas Institute of Sports Medcine and Athletic Trauma
NISMAT was the world’s first hospital-based facility committed solely to the study of sports medicine, and has since played a key role in advancing the field. NISMAT brings you the most comprehensive and current medical information and references available relating to injury treatment and prevention, training tips and exercise programs, physical therapy, sports physiology, nutrition, and so much more.
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to 1948. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
A Peer-Reviewed Journal and Site for Sport Research.
BioMed Central is an STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher which has pioneered the open access publishing model. All research articles in BioMed Central's journals receive rapid and thorough peer review.
Provides access to high-impact bioscience research journals.
The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. ERIC provides 1966 - present coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. Links are provided when full text is available.
Health Source Nursing/Academic
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Includes disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
ScienceDirect® is the world's largest electronic collection of science, technology, and medicine full-text and bibliographic information. Access is funded by the South Dakota BRIN grant and includes full-text to selected Elsevier titles held by the University of South Dakota.
Wiley Online Library
Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Access to Wiley Online Library is subsidized by the South Dakota BRIN grant and includes the titles found at http://www.usd.edu/library/upload/Wiley-Interscience-List-2010.pdf
© 2016 McGovern Library, Dakota Wesleyan University
Contact us: McGovern Library | Ph. 605.995.2618 | Fax 605.995.2893 | 1200 W. University Ave, Mitchell, SD 57301