Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Useful Historiography Sources
Doing Oral History by
Call Number: D16.14 .R57 2003
Publication Date: 2003
Oral history is vital to our understanding of the cultures and experiences of the past. Unlike written history, oral history forever captures people's feelings, expressions, and nuances of language. But what exactly is oral history? How reliable is the information gathered by oral history? And what does it take to become an oral historian? Donald A. Ritchie, a leading expert in the field, answers these questions and in particular, explains the principles and guidelines created by the Oral History Association to ensure the professional standards of oral historians.
Historians in Trouble by
Call Number: E175.45 .W54 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Historians have been in the news recently, and the news has not been good - accusations of plagiarism, research fraud, and classroom misconduct have made headlines, brought protracted investigations, and, in some cases, landed big names in the courtroom." "In Historians in Trouble, investigative journalist and historian John Wiener examines a dozen history scandals of the last few years, and asks why some charges end up on page one and end careers, while others do not. He argues that media spectacles end careers only when powerful groups outside the profession demand punishment - and that such campaigns typically come from the right rather than the left."
Modern Historiography by
Publication Date: 1999
Modern Historiography is the essential introduction to the history of historical writing. It explains the broad philosophical background to the different historians and historical schools of the modern era, from James Boswell and Thomas Carlyle through to Lucien Febure and Eric Hobsbawm and surveys: the Enlightenment and Counter Enlightenment Romanticism the voice of Science and the process of secularization within Western intellectual thought the influence of, and broadening contact with, the New World the Annales school in France Postmodernism. Modern Historiography provides a clear and concise account of this modern period of historical writing.
Lonergan and Historiography by
Publication Date: 2010
A thorough, well-researched, well-informed, elegantly written work. McPartland unfolds in a single volume the implications of Lonergan's foundational studies for philosophy of history. In doing so, he does for Lonergan what Lonergan did not have time to do himself.
The New Ways of History by
Publication Date: 2010
Historians have increasingly thought of new ways to deal with the past. They have sought the best ways to research the past and tried new modes of historical narrative. The ‘new ways of history'- the new historical fields and theoretical trends - are not usually combined or examined in one single volume. Specialisation in history is such that historians tend to read, publish and communicate only with historians in their own area or period of study. This volume provides an overview of recent trends in historiography and the changing agenda of questions in several historical fields - chronological, thematic and regional. It further adds to the discussion of how to treat time in history.
Past, Present and Personal: teaching writing in U.S. history by
Call Number: E175.8 .K266 2002)
Publication Date: 2002
Practicing History by
Call Number: D13 .T83 1981
Publication Date: 1981
From thoughtful pieces on the historian's role to striking insights into America's past and present to trenchant observations on the international scene, Barbara W. Tuchman looks at history in a unique way and draws lessons from what she sees. Here is a splendid body of work, the story of a lifetime spent "practicing history."
Writing History by
Call Number: D16 .S864 2004
Publication Date: 2015
Bringing together practical methods from both history and composition, Writing History provides a wealth of tips and advice to help students research and write essays for history classes. The book covers all aspects of writing about history, including finding topics and researching them, interpreting source materials, drawing inferences from sources, and constructing arguments.
Reference books are useful for identifying people, places, events, dates, etc. Many articles in reference books include a bibliography of recommended sources. This is a small sample of the reference books that may be useful.
Annals of America
Call Number: REF E173 .A793 Vol. 14
Publication Date: 1968-1987
The Coldest Winter by Pulitzer-winning historian Halberstam first decided to write this book more than thirty years ago and it took him nearly ten years. It stands as a lasting testament to its author, and to the fighting men whose heroism it chronicles. Halberstam gives us a full narrative of the political decisions and miscalculations on both sides, charting the disastrous path that led to the massive entry of Chinese forces near the Yalu, and that caught Douglas MacArthur and his soldiers by surprise. He provides vivid portraits of all the major figures--Eisenhower, Truman, Acheson, Kim, and Mao, and Generals MacArthur, Almond, and Ridgway. He also provides us with his trademark narrative journalism, chronicling the crucial battles with reportage of the highest order. At the heart of the book are the stories of the soldiers on the front lines who were left to deal with the consequences of the dangerous misjudgments and competing agendas of powerful men.--From publisher description.
Call Number: DS919 .H35 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Encyclopedia of Intelligence and Counterintelligence by From references to secret agents in The Art of War in 400 B.C.E. to the Bush administration's ongoing War on Terrorism, espionage has always been an essential part of state security policies. This illustrated encyclopedia traces the fascinating stories of spies, intelligence, and counterintelligence throughout history, both internationally and in the United States. Written specifically for students and general readers by scholars, former intelligence officers, and other experts, Encyclopedia of Intelligence and Counterintelligence provides a unique background perspective for viewing history and current events. In easy-to-understand, non-technical language, it explains how espionage works as a function of national policy; traces the roots of national security; profiles key intelligence leaders, agents, and double-agents; discusses intelligence concepts and techniques; and profiles the security organizations and intelligence history and policies of nations around the world. As a special feature, the set also includes forewords by former CIA Director Robert M. Gates and former KGB Major General Oleg Kalugin that help clarify the evolution of intelligence and counterintelligence and their crucial roles in world affairs today.
Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of the Korean War by The most comprehensive reference treatment of "The Forgotten War" to date, this three volume set chronicles its political, social, and military history. This three-volume set explores the Korean War, a conflict significant for its impact on American foreign policy, military controversies, and colorful political and military characters. Arranged alphabetically, the entries cover battles, military and historical and geographical facts, United Nations commands and committees, U.S. military organizations and policy, and other relevant topics.
Call Number: Ref DS918 .E53 2000 v. 1-3
Publication Date: 2000
Encyclopedia of U. S. Foreign Relations by
Call Number: REF E183 .R96 1994
Publication Date: 1997
Encyclopedia of United States National Security by With over 750 entries, the Encyclopedia of United States National Security is the first single, concise reference source to provide accurate and informative answers to the many challenging questions of how, why, when, and where national security has evolved. In addition to presenting historical facts and analyses, this two-volume encyclopedia is designed to provide a comprehensive introduction to some of the more complicated and abstract questions concerning world politics and national security. A thoroughly interdisciplinary work, this encyclopedia views national security from historical, economic, political, and technological perspectives.
Publication Date: 2005
The Korean War by
Call Number: Ref DS918 .K5636 2000 v. 1-3
Publication Date: 2000
Korean War Almanac by
Call Number: Ref DS918 .S86 1990
Publication Date: 1990
Searching the Library Catalog for Books and Movies
The library provides access to more than 200,000 books from a variety of sources, including print and ebooks. To find books by author, title, subject, or keyword search McGovern Library's Catalog.
Possible subject searches:
- "Korean War, 1950-1953
- "Korean War" China
- "Korean War" Chinese
- Korea China
- Korea foreign relations China
- China Soviet Union korean war
Possible keyword searches:
- Sino Soviet relations and korean war
Possible title searches:
With keyword searches try combining
with locations or terms such as
Limit by publication year to see the most recently published or contemporary sources.
Limit Audience to "Not Juvenile" to locate more academic titles.
Films on Demand
Films On Demand is a streaming video service that allows viewers to view academic videos anytime, anywhere, 24/7. Films on Demand has over 20,000 titles on multiple topics.
© 2016 McGovern Library, Dakota Wesleyan University
Contact us: McGovern Library | Ph. 605.995.2618 | Fax 605.995.2893 | 1200 W. University Ave, Mitchell, SD 57301