McGovern Library: HIS 401: Historical Research and Writing (Spring 2020): Articles

Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is a great place to start your search for both popular and scholarly articles on almost any topic. Find academic and peer-reviewed journals, magazine and newspaper articles, trade publications, reviews, books, and more.

Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)
Digital facsimile of Foreign Relations of the United States beginning with the administration of Abraham Lincoln. Provides official documentary history of major foreign policy decisions in an incomplete run from 1863-1960, with missing volumes being added as they can be acquired and processed. Available from the University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries.
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)
The Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. Provides official documentary history of major foreign policy decisions in an run from the Truman administration through the Reagan administration. Available from the Department of State's Office of the Historian.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to a wide variety of scholarly journals and monographs in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Use JSTOR to find historical information rather than current articles. Find academic and scholarly articles and books.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library is a great place to start your research, providing one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals, allowing you to search for both popular and scholarly articles. Find academic and peer-reviewed journals, magazine and newspaper articles, trade publications, reviews, and more.

Potential Articles

Mao, Stalin and Kim Il Sung: An interpretive essay
Presents an interpretive essay on the Joseph Stalin-Mao Zedong-Kim Il Sung relationship during the formative years of the People's Republic of China. Evolution of Sino-Soviet relations from the Yalta pact to the treaty of friendship, alliance and mutual assistance; Korean war in the 1950s; Kim's role in the context of Sino-Soviet relations.
Sino-Soviet Relations and the Origins of the Korean War: Stalin’s Strategic Goals in the Far East by Shen Zhihua
Article by Shen Zhihua, former Wilson Center public policy scholar and director of the Center for Cold War International History Studies at East China Normal University.
Stalin, Mao, Kim, and China's Decision to Enter the Korean War, September 16-October 15, 1950: New Evidence from the Russian Archives
Article by Alexandre Y. Mansourov. This article is based on the newly-declassified Russian archival materials related to the Korean War. Researchers were allowed access to these primary sources from Russia as a result of a series of agreements on academic cooperation and joint research on the history of the Korean War.
Why Did Stalin Not Support a Quick Victory for the Korean People’s Army? Stalin’s Unspoken Global Security Strategy for the Korean War
Article by Youngjun Kim in which he argues that Stalin maintained a maximum gain/minimum risk security strategy during the Korean War.

Print Indexes

Image courtesy of San Bernardino Valley College Library.

Print indexes should be used to find articles published prior to 1990. A number of print indexes are available in McGovern Library. Below are suggested indexes and possible search terms to use for locating articles about WWII.

International Index to Periodicals
- for "Korean War" use "Korean war, 1950-" and various subheadings (for volumes published before the war ended)
- for "Korean War" use "Korean war, 1950-1953" and various subheadings (for volumes published after the war ended)
- use "Mao, Tse-Tung"
- use "Stalin, Iosif"
- use "Russia -- Foreign relations"
- use "Russia -- Treaties -- China"
- use "China" and then search under the various subheadings
- use "United nations -- China"
- use "United nations -- Korea"
- use "United nations -- Russia"

Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature
- use "Korea -- Civil war, 1950-" and various subheadings (for volumes published before the war ended)
- use "Korea -- Civil war, 1950-1953" and various subheadings (for volumes published after the war ended)
- use "Kim Il Sung"
- use "Mao Tse-Tung"
- use "Stalin, Iosif"
- use "Russia -- Foreign relations" and then search under the various subheadings
- use "China (People's Republic" and various subheadings
- use "United nations"
- use "United nations -- Korea"