Skip to main content

Interlibrary Loan (ILL): Requesting Articles and Book Chapters

A Guide to Interlibrary Loan Services at Dakota Wesleyan University.

Requesting Articles and Book Chapters via a Catalog Search

Using the Library Catalog

You can use WorldCat to search for articles and book chapters.

You can search "Libraries Worldwide" to find items not owned by DWU. You can also limit by format to locate articles and book chapters by using the filters column on the left.

Review your results and select the item that you want to request. Click the "Request Item through Interlibrary Loan" button.

Interlibrary Loan request image

 

The system will auto-fill the citation information and "Type of Request". Scroll down to enter your personal information (All of the shaded boxes are required).

Interlibrary Loan request form image

Click the "Submit" button. The library staff will then process the request. When your item arrives you will receive an email with the article or chapter attached as a PDFFeel free to email library@dwu.edu if you would like an update on progress of your request.

Requesting Articles/Book Chapters via a Database Search (not EbscoHost or ProQuest)

How to request articles or book chapters from databases other than EbscoHost or Proquest

When you locate an article in ScienceDirect, Wiley Online, JSTOR, etc. you can email the library staff (library@dwu.edu) and include the following:

  • Your name and library barcode number (located on your Campus ID card)
  • Full citation for the article or chapter including
    • Article or chapter title
    • Author
    • Title of the journal, magazine, or book
    • Volume  number and issue number
    • Date
    • Page numbers
  • Date by which you need the item

Article/Book Chapter ILL Requests

Articles and Book Chapters

  • are delivered to your email account as PDFs.
  • are often received within 24 hours (though it can take longer).

Requesting Articles and Book Chapters via a Database Search (EbscoHost or ProQuest)

EbscoHost Databases

  • When you find an article in EbscoHost databases that isn't full-text in the database first check to see if the article is available in another McGovern Library database by clicking the "Check for full-text availability" link.

EbscoHost full-text availability image

  • If the article is available in another databse click on the link to access the article.

Link resolver image

  • If the article is not available then click on the "Request through ILL" link.

EbscoHost ILL request image

  • Please complete the top portion of the request form. The system will auto-fill the citation information in the "Item Details" section of the request form. Click the "Submit" button at the bottom of the page. The library staff will then process the request. When you item arrives you will receive an email with the article or chapter attached as a PDF.

ProQuest Databases

  • When you find an article in ProQuest databases that isn't full-text in the database first check to see if the article is available in another of our databases by clicking the "Check for full-text via OCLC Link Resolver" link.

ProQuest availability image

  • If the article is available in another databse click on the link to access the article.
  • If the article is not available then click on "More" to open more options.

ProQuest full-text options image

  • Click on the "Request this item" link.

ProQuest request item image

  • Complete the request form and click the "Send Request" button to submit your ILL request. The library staff will then process the request. When your item arrives you will receive an email with the article or chapter attached as a PDF.

© 2016 McGovern Library, Dakota Wesleyan University

Contact us: McGovern Library | Ph. 605.995.2618 | Fax 605.995.2893 | 1201 McGovern Avenue, Mitchell, SD 57301