Skip to main content

Faculty Information: Links to Articles or eBooks

Overview

  • Persistent URLs are permanent links to individual articles or e-books that can then be shared via email, posted on a web page, or placed on a course page in Canvas.
  • Individual databases provide their persistent links in different ways or may not provide them at all. 
  • Please note that in rare cases, some e-resources may only allow a limited number of simultaneous users. If you want to use a resource for class that has limited simultaneous users, or if you find using one is causing problems, please contact a librarian.

Linking to Database Articles

Linking to Library Resources

Linking directly to an information resource (i.e., journal article, book chapter, online video, etc.) in a library database is a great way to share information with your students. Providing direct links to articles is the best way to avoid copyright issues. Most of McGovern Library’s databases allow off-campus access, so your students can read or view the resource from anywhere with an Internet connection.

Links change every day. Copying URLs from your browser’s address bar could result in broken links since they change so frequently. The best way to avoid broken links is to use "permanent" or "persistent" URLs. These special URLs do not change, and they point the user directly to a specific webpage so you never have to worry about your link breaking. Each database should provide a permanent URL for each article. If you are using an EBSCOHost Database you can find the Permanent URL located in the right-had column of “Tools” (see image below).

Snipped image from EBSCOHost database

 

Click on “Permalink” to view the permanent URL for that particular article.

 

Snipped image from EBSCOHost database

If you have any questions contact Kevin Kenkel at 605-995-2617 or kekenkel@dwu.edu.

Proxy Information

Due to contracts and licensing, DWU must limit off-campus access of databases to current faculty, staff, and students. Off-campus users must verify (or “authenticate”) themselves as part of the DWU community. When accessing a library resources from off-campus users will first be prompted to sign in through the DWU authentication (i.e., proxy) server. To create a link that directs off-campus users through DWU’s proxy server is a simple process of combining the URL of the proxy server and the permanent URL of the article or book chapter that you want to use. The basic format to use is:

https://ezproxy.dwu.edu/login?url=permanentURL

Once you’ve located the permanent URL of the article (see left box) that you want your students to read, copy the permanent URL and append it to the URL of our proxy server:

https://ezproxy.dwu.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=82896721&site=ehost-live

Make sure that there are no spaces between the equals sign at the end of DWU’s proxy server address and the permanent URL address of the article. A space will cause the link to not work. If the permanent URL of the article is long it will probably wrap around as in the example above. Once you have this accomplished, copy this entire URL address into your online course page to provide the direct link to your students.

© 2016 McGovern Library, Dakota Wesleyan University

Contact us: McGovern Library | Ph. 605.995.2618 | Fax 605.995.2893 | 1201 McGovern Avenue, Mitchell, SD 57301